First Steps

I started where – I think – 99% of people who want to learn a new language start nowadays in the US….Duolingo. After 6 lessons, a 21 days streak, and 740 points (of which I am terribly proud of), I can say this is a good place to learn basic vocabulary. However, it always leaves me a bit puzzled.  After many lessons, I would have to ask my bf: why is it pronounced as an “a” if it is written as an “oa”?, and basic things like this. Also, Duolingo started by assuming I could read Cyrillic, and although I managed to infer lots of sounds, I was pretty lost when it came to others.

That is when I found Mrs. Vera Polyakova-Norwood’s YouTube videos . This teacher makes me feel like a kid again. She explains everything thoroughly, and has been an amazing complement to my Duolingo lessons. Also, she teaches how to write in Russian cursive, something that Duolingo doesn’t do (I made my bf a letter written in English but with Russian cursive – for instance writing “my” as “май”- to practice…it required a lot of brainpower to read it (as I was not 100% consistent)…but hey, it’s hard!).

On top of that, I got a book called The New Penguin Russian Course. I had it in PDF (it is not hard to find at all), but bought a hard-copy as it was cheap, and the feeling of having the book and writing on it while doing the exercises makes my learning experience more enjoyable (again, reminds me of when I was a kid…hey kid’s are terrific learners after all!).

So far I can point many things and say “это [fill in the blank]”, and when I don’t know, I ask my bf (or text him if he is not around (his reply being both an audio with the pronunciation and a text with how it is written…if I had only the text I would guess the pronunciation correctly…mmm 3% of the time?).

Today I learned about nouns’ genres, and the rules were (surprisingly) straight forward. Finding something that is actually easy is nice, but I ready to keep learning haRRRd things and challenging myself 🙂

пока-пока, write to you later!

Leave a Reply

